I’ve made bread before. In a bread machine–dough cycle.  I’ve made bread before. That turned out to be more like a giant crouton than a loaf of bread. And don’t get me started on trying to make whole wheat anything. But Saturday, I followed a multi-loaf recipe and made five loaves of bread. Yep, you read that right. Five loaves of  whole wheat bread and two soups for the freezer.  But the bread.  Ack! I was am so excited about my bread. Every step of the way. I mixed it by hand (my mixer would not hold 20 cups of flour), I kneaded it, proofed, shaped, glazed, baked, cooled, cut and ate about 4 pieces with yummy butter.You should have seen me.  Giddy, I tell you. I. was. giddy.  Okay, here. Look!

We’re working on one and the others are in the freezer. Yay for homemade bread!  I could really get into this bread making thing. It was so calming and FUN! And anything that makes me giddy is worth doing again and again and again.

