I’ve never been one for resolutions. I’m still not. But, if we don’t set goals we’re bound to not accomplish any.  This year I chose the start of the new year to set a few goals for myself.  One of the proven ways to succeed in reaching your goals is to tell someone what they are.  That is one of the reasons I am choosing to share these goals with you. One of the other reasons is because I plan to refer to some of them on my blog and I’d like to give you some context.

There were 4 big, generic goals on my list. In the case of these 4 goals, the more generic, the more likely I am to actually attempt them.  Most of them can work together. They are big because if they are important to me I am more likely to actually attempt them. I have thought of a few specific ways to accomplish the goal, but the ideas are secondary.

In no particular order:

1. Write more (I have already written more this year–in my personal journal–than I did the whole of 2009). I want to write in my journal more and write letters. Handwritten letters.

2. Build stronger relationships (with God, family and friends)–this can be done with letters and I’ve done a few other things here and there.  And it’s fun, not scary. My moms would be very proud of me.

3. Create more. Sew, paint, write. The goal is to just do something even if it isn’t the vision in my head. I also have a shelf of about 6 projects to complete this year. I considered restricting myself to only those projects, but I will try and fail to only do those projects cause sometimes crafting is like homework. I look at a project, then think of something else to do instead–like go to bed. Sometimes things come up like someone has a baby or I get overwhelmed with the project ideas in my head.

4. Implement crucial/strategic routine–I love routine, but avoid it for some reason (cause I’m ‘creative’). I feel so much more at peace with routine. It is one of the mysteries of Andrea. BUT now I won’t be able to get away with as much flying-by-the-seat-of-my-pants-just-cause-I-can. I think “soon” is the time I’ll start waking up earlier. This one is going to hurt.

The overall theme is to be more productive.

Have you set any goals recently. I’d love to hear what they are. Hearing someone’s goals can be encouragement to accomplish your own. Feel free to keep me accountable and I’ll do my best to keep you updated.

