This is Nathan’s favorite banana bread recipe.  Nine years ago a girl who had a crush on Nat delivered the recipe to his house at his request. She came in hopes that his heart would be won, but found out he wanted the recipe so I could make it for him.  I made the bread, and it was good–but it wasn’t (and still isn’t) perfect. After our wedding and after I had already made the bread, I found out that story (be warned, the previous telling is my recount) and that he and the girl probably would have started dating if I hadn’t come on the scene.  I didn’t want to make another woman’s banana bread.  I didn’t want him thinking of her every time he ate it.  So I set out on a mission to find a different recipe and make mine the best.  To my demise, they all paled in comparison to her recipe.  And here it is:

3/4 cup shortening

1 1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 cup or 3-4 ripe bananas

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 tsp salt

mix dry ingredients separately. Then mix wet ingredients. They mix both together. Bake at 350 in a greased and floured loaf pan for one and a half hours!  Makes one healthy loaf.

I have tried many, many banana bread recipes and many pieces of banana bread. This is the best–except for Jan’s.  Excuse the use of shortening.  I’ve tried many substitutes (Spectrum shortening, butter, oil, butter & shortening) and none of them work as well as good, ol Crisco.  Taste trumps health in this case.  However, using 5 bananas and 1/2 cup of shortening might work. This bread does have a tendency to get dark before it’s done in the middle. I’ve never taken the time to learn the science of cooking to figure out why that happens and how to fix it.  But  it is really good (doesn’t last a day in our house), and at least I know that I got the man.  😉

