As shown by my love for old people, stories, old stuff, family heirlooms, pictures, and memories, I love nostalgia.  Autumn tends to be the time I begin to feel quite nostalgic about food.  So, I have officially proclaimed that I will prepare at least one nostalgic food item a week for the next month or two.  I think it will be fun to share some of those recipes and the stories behind them with you.

This past Friday we had Salmon Croquettes.  I call them, salmon patties.  I love these. My family does not. They humor me by eating them anyway, and will continue to do so each time I make them in the future. My mother would make these when I was a child and serve them with rice, biscuits (usually canned), and green beans or peas.  I loved to sandwich the patties on a biscuit with grape jelly.  Yum!  I also served these with the same side dishes as my mother, only I made my biscuits from scratch.  If it weren’t for those biscuits, I think dinner would have been a failure.

Salmon Croquettes

1 can of red or pink salmon

1 egg

1/2 a small onion, diced

pepper to taste

corn meal

flour

2T vegetable oil for frying

12 inch skillet

Drain about half of the liquid from the can.  Dump the remaining contents into a bowl.  Remove bones if desired.  The bones are edible and add calcium, but I take out all the round ones.  I also remove fleshy pieces of skin, but most of it works right into the mixture.  Add the egg, onion, pepper and enough cornmeal and flour to hold the patties together.  It is about 2-3 T of cornmeal and 1 T of flour.  Heat oil on medium heat.  Make balls of about 1/4 cup of mixture each.  Place in pan and flatten with a fork to about 1/4 inch thickness.  Cook until brown on one side, then flip to brown the other side.  Makes about 10 patties. Serve with biscuits and grape jelly.

I think these would make a great savory addition to a breakfast of eggs and biscuits or wheat toast, in place of the traditional breakfast meat. You could also maintain the nutritional value a bit more, by cooking these with a non-stick spray or to use olive oil. However, part of the fun is the crisp outside.

When I try these again, I plan to experiment with a few things.  My kids only did not like the onion pieces, so I think I will finely shred the onion.  I’ll also add a little dill and some shredded potatoes–possibly omit the cornmeal and use only a little flour to hold the mixture together.  If none of those changes improve family acceptance, or it rids the dish of all nostalgia, I’ll just make them as a snack for myself the way my mom did.

