photo by m.ruth

When my grandmother died she left me with a trunk full of fabric. Scraps mostly. I kept most of it in hopes that I would find a use for it all. My grandmother was very special to me, so I wanted to make something that I could keep and enjoy. I’ve been using pieces here and there. I finally decided upon a quilt and I knew that I wanted to use as much and waste as little as I possibly could. Considering the size of most of the pieces I knew that I would need to cut pieces to be 1-2 inches. I looked up “quilts with small pieces” and discovered the Postage Stamp quilt pattern. I absolutely must make one, and I’d better start now.

photo courtesy: l.l. bean

I just don’t know if I want to attempt something like the first picture. I just love the yellow. Or, do I want to go with the alternating white like the L.L. Bean quilt. I guess I’ll just have to see what fabric colors I have. I get excited just thinking about it.

