The kids and I have been on a quest to find lamps for their bedrooms.  Before today we looked at Target, two antique/vintage stores, and a lamp store.  Today I ventured to IKEA.  If you’ve never been to an IKEA or heard of one just think of Target and Wal-Mart getting together and having an IKEA baby.  Only this baby is bigger, about the size of a small town. I don’t think I like IKEA. Too big. Too maze-y. Too popular.  But, it was the solution to our decorating problems as far as Moriah’s room goes. I found a home for her stuffed animals and a lamp.  I also picked up a wall organizer for our mail and a solar-powered lamp for Noah.  We’d like a smaller bed for Noah because his room is so small. IKEA had lots of those, and they were cute,  but I don’t think I could bring myself to buy one of their beds.  Functional, yes and it would solve a space issue, but the boxes are too big for my car and I think I should pay half as much for the quality. Though I can’t deny that IKEA has cute stuff (if you like modern/contemporary), I don’t like how popular and how common it is.

Friends of mine have mentioned on several occasions that they think I will love  Trader Joe’s. I secretly disagreed because people drop that name as if it’s some type of status symbol.  “Yeah, there’s going to be lots of food from Trader Joe’s at my party.”  So what.  I don’t like name dropping. People do the same thing for IKEA.  Well, I went to Trader Joe’s yesterday and I loved it.  I don’t know what their brand of food tastes like, they just have some really good prices on unique items and decent produce at good prices.  I like the store itself, shopping is fun and the workers are really nice, they notice you and remember you. It reminds me of shopping at The Farmer’s Market store back home or Easy-Way. There is stuff there that I like to buy and it doesn’t cost an arm and a leg. Plus, it isn’t as far from my house as I previously thought.

