So, my friend called this guy and left a message.  The guy called back and talked to me.  He told me that the phone call was an answer to a prayer he just prayed earlier that week.  He said to me that he would love to have someone with my character working for his company.  He didn’t tell me what position he was looking for, but let me know that if I wanted to attend a product development meeting to get an idea of what they will be doing, then I could. I expected that I would be his personal assistant, keeping him organized.

I attended this meeting and began praying about if I should join this start up company and in what capacity.  A few days later I got an email where they told me what position they had in mind for me.  At the time I had no idea what the position was and I never heard of it.  It is an executive position and I know I could do the job, but I don’t have direct experience.  Later, I met with him (the CEO) and the COO of the company for lunch. They let me know on several occasions that they wanted me to work for them and in a sense were selling the position to me.  I expressed to them my hang-ups/ reservations about the position. They stressed to me that I have to know that the life experiences I’ve had (planting a church, owning a daycare business, etc.) are more than enough to qualify me for the position.

I’m excited about learning something new, having something challenging and working with a team of Christian people. I am not excited about working with The Good Ole’ Boys on the other side. I am not excited about wearing a suit, or being a suit. BUT I’m excited about all that this job would mean.  I’m excited about working for this company and the values they are building the company on.   This position is one where I can use most of my gifts and talents–just packaged much differently than I anticipated.  The only catch for myself (and for them) is that the offer is contingent upon the company getting funding.  They are hopeful and we will know by the end of the month. Once things go through, I can give a few details about my position.

So, this would be a job I did not interview for, my work experience isn’t what got me the job, but my character and life experience. It kind of just fell in my lap and it is more than I would have hoped for.  If things work out I really think I would have an opportunity to shine in this position. It is not what I had in mind for my career, but it is an awesome alternative.

