God is absolutely mind-blowing. Astounding. Confusing.

And here is why I think so…today.  I mentioned that I might have a job. Well, here is how all of that started and at the same time, why God baffles me. Maybe some background information would be helpful and maybe I’ll actually get to the story. But then again, I’m tired and I like to leave you hanging and coming back for more.

We used to live in Fargo.  Now we live somewhere else.  While in Fargo I applied for over 50 jobs from September to March or April.  I don’t know if that is a lot and I’m sure someone else has applied for more. It isn’t a contest.  Of those over 50 jobs, I only interviewed for 3 and one of those interviews was at a temp agency.  I was completely burned out. I am completely burned out on applying for jobs.

I have confided in the Lord– in my burnout–that it sure would be nice to not have to apply for a job and that one would just land in my lap. It sure would be nice if I could just get a job based on my charm and my good word that “I know I can do this job”. It sure would be nice if etc etc etc, blah blah blah

So, once we moved here I had an appointment at a “headhunter.” So far I have not been impressed with the way these people present themselves. But as my mother said, “they have a job. They don’t have to impress you.”   I left this appointment with the words, “you have a lot of education, a lot of smarts, but just not a whole lot of experience. I don’t know if we could find a job for you,” ringing in my ears.  I haven’t told my husband, but at that point I gave up on applying for jobs (even though I’m still doing it).  That same day I was speaking with our hosts (we stayed with friends until our place opened up) about my disgust and discouragement. Then he said, “you’ve got to talk to ____. He needs someone like you working for him.”

I didn’t think anything would come of it. I was more so humoring everyone by giving it a shot.

