Please forgive me for not writing back right away.  Someone smashed into our van.  We found out today that it is totaled.  It’s highly inconvenient and it put a small damper on my explorations.  I did find a bakery, but I was not too impressed with the inside or the baked goods. I have also found my variety store to browse in–two actually.

Saturday, Nathan and I drove around the city and I got a bit of a feel for the area and the culture.  We went out to eat at this Polish place that has a polka bar and a piano bar that they use kind of like karaoke.  It was a hoot! Nathan sang two songs *swoon* and we enjoyed hearing the others sing songs as well.  There was one lady who said, “I’ve never done this before.” So as she began to sang I finished her sentence, ” but I just cut my first album last month.” She was really good.  There was also a crooner there. He didn’t even have to write down his songs, or read the lyrics from the book,  he just told the lady at the piano what he wanted to sing and she played it.  The atmosphere was quite interesting and if you go there expecting anything but interesting, you’ll be disappointed.It was a great date for us that we ended by watching Roman Holiday.  Very sweet.  We’ve really enjoyed our time together these past few weeks even though Nathan”s been working late.

Sunday, I met up with my sister-in-law and nephew (what a cutie) and we ate a great place for pancakes, went to an indoor global market and she showed me a quilter’s fabric store. Tonight I’m going to a new advisers and spouse’s cocktail hour at Nathan’s office, then we’re off to network with some guy that does a Bible study in a bar!  I actually, like this kind of stuff.  The hard part will be putting on a suit…and the small talk. We pick up our children on Friday and I’m pretty excited to see their sweet faces again. I wonder how long it will take to transition to being together again.  I pray that there are minimal bumps. My goal is to keep them so entertained it won’t be much of an issue, but now that we won’t have a car, it might be harder. I guess I’ll have to learn to ride the bus sooner than I hoped. I won’t be such a socialite once the kids come back, and that’s okay. We’ll have boxes to unpack, lots of reaquainting to do, and our normal routines to begin.

Our circumstances are really no different than they were before we moved, and in some cases they are worse.  But as I walked yesterday I realized that I feel more contentment, joy and happiness than I’ve felt in a long time.  I am so glad we made this move.  It is just right for us at this point in our lives and I’m excited to take part in what God has in store for us.

