So far I have created two dresses for my daughter and am working on the third. I’ve been pretty pleased with the results and will post pictures as soon as I finish the roll. This has been so fun and what makes the sewing even more enjoyable is that my house is still in tact, supper is still being made and the children are being tended to. Not because I’m so great at getting it all done, but because the sewing projects have been that simple. Today I’ll be starting my dress/apron from a vintage (1975) “Butcher Apron” pattern sample from McCall’s. I’ve seen this pattern online priced from 6-15 dollars and I bought mine for 25 cents at a thrift store. It is uncut and the packaging is even in awesome condition. I’ll be using a vintage sheet for my first attempt at this. I’ll also start working on a shirt dress from THE shirt dress tutorial. I don’t know why this intimidates me so much, but it does. Dana says it’s an easy skill level and that it only takes 2-3 hours, but I’m pretty sure she hasn’t met me and would maybe change the skill level and time estimate after she did. But, I’m going to give it a go. Maybe I’ll start with the cheap, polyester thrift store shirt before attempting it with the cheap, linen Ralph Lauren thrift store shirt. What are you guys working on? I’d love to stop by and see your work: quilts, clothes, photographs anything! So leave me a comment so I can ooo and ah over the beauty.
