My friend, Karen, was over the other day to make magnets. Or “maganets” as The Boy calls them. She uses stickers to make hers, but while she was here I had an epiphany.

This is how I can use up all my tiny little vintage fabric scraps!

Apparently, I am not the only one who has had this epiphany. Since making these I have found numerous tutorials on how to make marble magnets. I like to call them glass pebble maganets. I used Mod Podge–glossy, floral pebbles, vintage fabric scraps, and a heavy duty magnet for my creations. Each tutorial uses slightly different methods, but the end result is pretty much the same.

Not Martha has a pretty awesome tutorial. She also gives info on where to find some “marbles” that are a little different than the ones typically used in floral arrangements. And she offers her own little link list of sites that demonstrate the same project. Lenny da Vinci has a short, easy to follw version. Beegirl on flickr has some pretty fabric ones to look at. Me likey. These magnets are all over the place. Apparently E6000 adhesive is better than Mod Podge, but if you want your kids to make a few (they are very kiddoable) I would suggest the Mod Podge.

If you are ever in a crafting slump, need a quick gift, or a little instant gratification (as I did), these are perfect for that. My children loved making these with stickers and could do it for hours if I let them.

