Several things have happened around here since my last post.  I’ll just give some brief updates to get you up to speed, then perhaps I’ll be posting more regularly again.

  • Moriah just finished up Spring Break.  Since I did not go to Arkansas as originally planned, I decided to go visit a friend and take the opportunity to do something special with the kids.  We had a great time. I was quite proud of myself for surviving without my husband.
  • I turned 31 yesterday.  It was quite possibly the worst birthday ever, but not because of circumstances. I got to hang out with my family, which is exactly what I wanted.  A whole slew of other issues just decided to rear their ugly little heads on that day.
  • Our area is under a flood warning. It is supposed to be worse than the last one that did quite a bit of damage in 1997.  I plan to go help sandbag tomorrow.  I don’t think I could call myself a true citizen if I did not help in some way. It is my civic duty. *insert superhero theme music here* The river is supposed to crest by Friday.  We are getting rain, more snow is melting and more snow is to come.  We are not being evacuated, but some of the smaller towns are, and many of the small towns need more help sandbagging. Our family is not close to the River, but if it reaches predicted levels the entire town will be affected.  We are preparing this week by getting things out of our basement and off the floor. People are asked to conserve water and go help bag.  Please pray that those who need help sandbagging will get the help and the amount of bags they need to protect their home.

Assuming we continue to have Internet access and electricity(?) I will keep you posted on how things are going here. Otherwise, family and friends can get telephone updates.

