There’s apart of the Genesis account of  “the fall” that I can’t quite wrap my mind around.

Before the fall, Adam and Eve had it really good–they walked in perfect union with God and lived in a perfect world.   This is what gets  me.  Did God create Adam and Eve with a sin nature? Why else would they long for something forbidden? I usually hear that sin entered the world at the point Adam and Eve ate the fruit.  Evil was already in existence and the moment they touched the fruit they disobeyed God’s command.  If God created them with a sin nature, that would mean that sin (or the possibility of it) was a part of a perfect world, which would also mean that perfection does not mean without flaw.

I once heard a guy (a religious philosophy student) talk about how perfection is a definitive word.  Theoretically, it is something that could be obtained.  Therefore, it has limits.  God has no limits, so to define him as perfect simply doesn’t do him justice.  This argument could also be used to support the idea that perfection does not mean without flaw. In our case, perfection would not mean without sin.  We are perfect simply because we are God’s creation–fallen world or not.

Today I was also thinking about the gold purification analogy to God’s refining fire.  Gold has a lot of impurities and to rid it of the impurities it is placed in a vat and heated to extremely high temperatures.  The impurities rise to the top, and then are skimmed off.  The gold is cooled and then the process happens again.  This is how the karat of gold is determined.  The higher the karat, the more times it’s been through this process and the more it is worth (as jewelry).

Two thoughts occured to me:

1) Even with all of the impurities, the gold is still gold.  The impurities don’t make it something other than gold.  2) The higher the karat, the  weaker the gold.  So, the gold with more impurities is stronger.

Even with all of our impurities, we are still gold.  The more pure we become the more easily we will break.  Christians like to talk about being broken.  It isn’t a feel good type of thing, but is something many aspire to because being broken means we have fewer impurities and it seems that we are more willing to allow God’s to work in and through us.

So, what I can’t wrap my mind around is what all of that would imply.  If I could work through it, I think it would alter–in a good way–my ideas of some aspect of God.  I think it would alter a lot of things.  I don’t think I’m on to anything huge, but it’s good to think about the Bible and God in these ways.  Even if it amounts to nothing, the act of working through the word is very _________ (I need to increase my vocabulary).

