Well, Andrea and I have decided to read some classics this year.  We didn’t make any New Year’s Resolutions this year but decided that we need to get going on our “Books to Read” list.  For some reason we skipped over our personal lists and looked up a list on the Internet and tried to identify which ones that we should read.  She is going to try to read one per month and I decided to do the same.  I am going to start with a compilation of 8 Classic American Novels bound together in one book–none of which were on the Internet list we found.  So I guess I came full circle, as usual.  I bought this particular book for $1 at a meeting for English majors while I was still in college.  The only time I have opened it thus far has been to write my name in the inside cover.  🙂  Unfortunately, many of my books for my Lit classes suffered the same fate…

Anyway, the first novel in this compilation is The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper.  Interesting that I am starting first with a book that has “The Last” in its title.  Hopefully it won’t be “The Last” book that I read this year.  I will have to find a book with “The First” in its title as my last book to read for 2009.  With any luck the reading will be more consistent than my blogging has been!  Actually, that wouldn’t be very difficult.  So, here goes!

