Today we decorated our Christmas tree and all weekend I’ve been trying to get to my sewing machine to finish all of those gifts I told myself I would make.  I’m doing well.  Today was my first opportunity to get to the machine and it sucks.  My previous complaints about my machine were purely snobbish, ungrateful complaints about how noisy or temperamental it is.  But now, it has crossed the line and it is messing up my projects.  I’ve been finding myself wishing I had picked up one of those 40 dollar machines I saw on sale during Black Friday.  To fix one of the errors, courtesy of my machine, I needed a seam ripper.  I own three seam rippers.  How many can I find? Zero.  None of them.  This was going to be the quickest and easiest gift on the list, but not tonight.  I’ve also felt a sense of urgency to get these things done, not simply because I’ve been begging for a little time ALONE, but because I’m hoping that by the end of the week I will have a job.  Not that I got any sewing done during the day anyway (I play with the boy, look for jobs, clean, and regular old mommy stuff), but once I get a job I imagine that time for sewing will really be sparse.  Ugh! Ugh! Ugh! and Bah Humbug!  This was supposed to be encouraging.  And I’m forcing myself to blame my machine so I don’t fall into thinking that I’m really not good at this stuff and just maybe I should find a new hobby.

