It’s late.  I’m supposed to be going to bed, but I thought I’d stop by for a little rambling. Some things I have been thinking about lately.

The worst thing that could happen right now?   That someone in my immediate family is diagnosed with a terminal illness.  That could not come at a worse time than right now.

If I were not so reserved I would:  Talk to the lady in the bathroom stall next to me.  You know how sometimes you hear someone in the public bathroom having a really hard time?  I’d say to them, “Oh, are you okay in there? You need some extra toilet paper?”  I would empathize with them and let them know that I’ve been there too. “Don’t you just hate it when you can’t make it home?”

I would also talk more at the checkout line.  I always want to. Always.  It seems so awkward not to talk to someone that is that close to you. I have done it once and thankfully the lady was kind enough to reciprocate.  I don’t think I would try it at our grocery store when the youngsters are working there.  They all look really crabby.

I think it would be fun to go to a wedding reception for someone you don’t know.  That would be very fun.

I just read about dumpster diving as a possible hobby.  I checked out a book at the library…it’s a humorously written book about what hobby best suits your personality.  I thought I would find out that I could drop a few hobbies and take up a new one.  I can’t drop any, but I learned of more than a few to pick up.  One of them is dumpster diving.  Not for food, but for treasure.  I think that would be super fun. Driving around at night digging through the Barnes and Noble dumpster to see what kind of treasures I could find.  Or the furniture store.  What fun.  Nathan said he would do that with me. I can think of one other girlie girl that might get a kick out of it.  This is definitely on my list of things to do.   Maybe I would also like geocaching.

Do you ever wonder what would happen if your polite filter came off?  Maybe you don’t have one.  Ever walk in Office Max and down each isle you walk someone has asked you if you need any help?  Sometimes I want to say, ” No, jeez, you are about the 5th person to ask me that.  If I need any help, I will come find you.  I am enjoying my time looking at the office supplies so leave me alone.”  I like being asked for help in a store–once.  They have no way of knowing this, but if I am in a store other than a thrift store, I know exactly what I am looking for and I know exactly where it is.  If I do not know where it is, I will look for someone to help me.  If I cannot find it where I think it should be, I will look for help.  It is really annoying to have multiple people ask me if I need any help.  I like that at BB&B they simply greet you.  They don’t pester you for help unless you look like you lost something. They can recognize a browser or a purposed shopper, and I appreciate that.

Did you know I used to be a secret shopper? That was really fun.  I liked it.  I never did enough to get the really cool jobs, but I’ve gotten lots of free stuff and had some neat experiences as a result.  I’m not a secret shopper anymore and I can’t stop getting job postings because I lost all my user names and passwords.  I threw them away cause I figured they would deactivate my account after so many years of inactivity.  Nope.  I still end up with about 56 emails a day in my “Mystery Shopper” folder. So if you are interested in getting into that kind of thing, let me know.

My new wedding ring is still too big.  Nathan surprised me with it in March.  I didn’t think I would be the kind of chick that cried when she saw a piece of jewelry or was crowned Mrs. ______, but when I saw the ring I cried.  I felt like such a dork.  Anyway, he told them I wore a size 10.  I have like a size 7 or 6.5 finger.

Moriah is taking piano lessons from one of our friends.  I’m excited for her.    Moriah’s joke-telling skills have improved greatly.  She loves to make people laugh and she has about two or three jokes memorized.  Noah is asking to spell all kinds of things. He’s becoming more interested in words and what they say. This is another step in learning to read.   This kid is very smart.  He lets his adult like logic and conclusions seep out once in a while.  Be warned that he knows how to put two and two together.

I read one of our age appropriate sex education books to the kids the other night.  It seemed so useless.  Noah was laughing and cracking jokes the entire time.  Pointing and laughing. Giggle, giggle, giggle.  That got Moriah going. Then I gave up trying to hold it together and be serious and started laughing too.  We finally made it through the book. Moriah asked some good questions.  Noah acted like he didn’t hear a thing I read. Unlikely.

I think that’s it for now.  I was actually stalling to see if Nathan called back.  He’s at one of his drug studies again and I had a friend over when he called. He was supposed to call back in a few minutes, but that was 45 minutes ago.  I think he fell asleep and I’m going to go do the same.

