Have you ever heard of a “cream can supper?” I hadn’t until I met and married Nathan. This is a meal of corn on the cob, potatoes, carrots, onions, and smoked sausages all placed inside an old-fashioned cream can, then cooked on a fire (or smoldering embers?).  Anyway, it is so good.  This year, Nathan’s parents had a patio warming party (which was very nice) instead of the cream can supper.  I was in the mood for this type of meal, but I don’t live in an area that allows large fires in the yard, I do not have a yard, I did not need to feed 30 people, and I do not own a cream can. So, I improvised.  This is a great meal to enjoy during the Fall.  For us, Fall is over, but I hope you enjoy.

What you need:

A grill (I used gas)

A small roasting pan (the oval kind with a lid)

Heavy duty foil

All food proportions are based on how much you like to eat of each item, but here’s what’s inside:

Smoked sausage, corn on the cob, potatoes, onions and carrots.

Directions:

Place a sheet of foil on the grill, shiny side up. Use a low flame. Place one sheet of foil in the roasting pan. Rough cut veggies into large chunks (I cut everything in halves).  Place some of the sausage on the bottom with the veggies and about a 1/4 cup of water, and keep adding until the pan is full.  It can be pretty full, because you will have extra room once the lid is on. Note: you can lightly oil your pan if you want, but the grease from the sausage should be enough.

403630-r1-039-18_018

Place the covered roasting pan on the grill. Close the grill.  Cook for about 30 minutes, or until done.

403630-r1-033-15_015

Enjoy!  Don’t mind the crispies.  That’s the best part. We served our meal with strawberry smoothies and a beer for the man.

403630-r1-031-14_014

