Most recently I have been informed that I will need to get a job. I was initally sickened by the thought, and now that I’ve stopped whining like a baby about it, the idea is growing on me. Since I’ve never really worked before I don’t know where to start. I know that I have a few criteria and that’s about all I’ve got:

1. I have to enjoy it:  I don’t want to get bored.  Work is work, but I don’t want to wake up every morning wishing I didn’t have to go.

2. I need to get paid well enough:  I’m not talking 6 figures, but more than enough to cover the cost of Pre-K for Noah and to take care of the other things that we have decided are important for our kids and our family–like eating, dance and music lessons, saving for college, etc.

3. I want to be good at it OR have potential to be good at it (meaning I have the skills and talent, just need training). I don’t really know what I’m qualified for on paper and what’s just me thinking I’m good at something and I’m really not good enough to get paid to do it.  This is where I falter in the whole job search thing.

4. I want to use my brain (maybe): This is one thing I miss about grad school (the other being the people.).  I would like some type of mental challenge.

I don’t think that is too much to ask.  I’m sure a lot of jobs would fit into those categories.  We’ll see.  Do any of you have any job ideas for me?

