Hi.  It’s just everyday life around here, and I have no fun way to tell you the story of our everyday life–quite boring. BUT let me know if you’re interested in what things I’m giddy about, how Nat’s studying is going, or anything else.  I’ve asked for suggestions before, and being the glutton I am, I’ll ask again.  Seriously, let me know if we’re boring you to sleep while you’re at work. We are bedtime stories, but we want you to be entertained.

Anyway, since being at home (which is something I could post about once I get the nerve and the time), I’ve really enjoyed being able to cook again.  It is really difficult for me to make the same thing more than once in the same way cause I don’t usually follow recipes or write them down when I create them. I love to cook, I don’t love to eat (I love to taste and experience food), but food is quickly becoming an area I can use my creativity and make every meal and experience.  My point is, I made some pasta the other day and we all (even Noah) liked it.  I thought for sure there would be leftovers and that the kids wouldn’t like it, but they gobbled it up.

I call it The Ant & The Grasshopper.  The Ant because it has bacon in it so you can store up some fat for the winter, and The Grasshopper because it makes use of produce that is currently in season or that you can easily pull from your garden if you have these items.  Using generic thick sliced bacon means that you will get enough meat and enough fat for the recipe.  Using thin sliced will not give you much meat, and using high quality will not give you much fat. Using bacon also means you won’t need to use salt or many other seasonings.

2 strips of generic, thick sliced bacon

1 T butter, do not substitute–especially not with olive oil.  Enjoy the fat, you’re planning ahead for winter.

2 small zucchini, sliced about 1/4 inch thick

3/4 red bell pepper, chopped to 1/2 inch pieces

1/2 – 1 container of baby bella mushrooms, chopped

1/4 cup of red onion, diced

2 cloves of fresh garlic, minced

1-13 oz package of whole wheat pasta

1. Fry the bacon, to a crisp (not burned) in a large skillet (14-16 inches, you’ll need a cover later) on medium-high, to high heat.  Place the bacon on a folded paper towel and safely drain all of the grease. Add some water to the hot skillet, swirl it around to lightly rinse out the excess oil.  You want a little of the bacon grease residue to remain for flavor.  Once the bacon is cooled crumble it into a small bowl or right onto the paper towel.

2. Reduce heat to medium and add butter.  Once the butter is melted add the chopped onion and garlic.  Saute until onion is soft, but not brown.

3. Add the zucchini and crumbled bacon. Toss to mix. Cook zucchini until it is browned, but not mushy.

4. Prepare pasta according to package directions. Al dente

5. While the pasta is boiling, add the red pepper and mushrooms to the zucchini-onion mixture.  Cover the skillet and reduce the heat to low.  You do not want the veggies to get mushy.  You want them tender.

6.  Once the pasta is done, drain it well then toss it with the cooked veggies.

7. Serve warm on a pretty plate. Enjoy!

I’m new to this recipe writing thing, so if you read this and/or try it and find that something is off, let me know so I can fix it or give you some tips. My pasta was a little under cooked so it got dry.  I tried to compensate my own portion by adding olive oil.  It was gross.  So don’t do it. Maybe an oil with a milder flavor would work better as a substitute, but you really can’t beat butter and garlic and bacon. Mmm.

