Above is the back of a quilt I recently gave to my brother’s first baby. It took about 6 months for me to finally complete the gift and I was not aware of the baby’s gender when I chose the design. Anyway, the back is a minke-type fabric and I hired out machine quilting, because I’m really slow and because of the backing fabric.

I created this tiny little elephant toy to attach to the eye of a larger appliquéd elephant. This toy has a squeaker inside that I removed from a thrifted toy.


Here’s what the stitching looks like on the front. I used bold, contrasting colors to please little baby eyes.

Here’s the large appliquéd, mama elephant. Her eye is a circle of Velcro upon which the little elephant attaches.

And the whole thing looks like this. I was really pleased with the results. The quilt pattern is a log cabin variation, but the complete design is original. Oh, and see how I added the tail to the binding? I love it! My brother, his wife, and the baby love it! Very exciting!

