The moment you’ve all been waiting for.  Sorry I missed a day.  I don’t know what happened, except we just blew our chances of winning a $20 gift card.  Oh well.  We’re still shooting for a post everyday.

I got this from a website.  When I find it I’ll post the link so they get credit.

3.1 oz bar soap (Fels Naptha, Ivory, Homemade Soap)

1 c 20 Mule Team Borax

1/2 c Arm & Hammer Washing Soda

Water

Shave soap into small strips and place in the pot with 5 cups of water.  Bring water to just shy of a boils and stirl until the soap is completely melted. While the soap mixture is heating, fill 5 gallon bucket with 3 gallons of hot water (I use ice cream pails to measure).  Once all the soap shavings are melted, pour the mixture into the 5 gallon container and stir.  Once the soap and water are thoroughly stirred (I use a dowel), add the 1/2 c of washing soda and stir until dissolved.  Once the washing soda is dissolved, pour in the cup of Borax and stir again until dissolved.

cover container and place it out of the way and let it set overnight.  Once it is cooled it will gel.  It will not gel uniformily so it will be lumpy and watery.  Put in a smaller container for convienece.  You may also add a few drops of essential oils for fragrance.

Usage: 1/2 c per load (I use this amount for large loads)

Yields: 110 1/2 loads, $0.01 per load

My Notes:  This detergent is low sudsing so it works in HE machines.  I’ve used it in mine and so far have had no problems.  I use Fels Naptha.  That stuff is awesome.  I have not had any problems with stains coming out and I usually don’t pre-treat.  It is made with soap so I’m guessing you shouldn’t use it for flame retardant clothing. You should also stir it before you put in your dispenser if you have HE, sometimes all the lumps won’t go through.

If you would like me to share the powdered detergent recipe or the dishwasher detergent recipe, let me know.

