I finished. I’m still alive. Sore, but still alive. At this point in time I never want to feel this sore again, but I also want to see myself work hard to improve. The wind was horrible, but the fans were great and the marathon was well organized. My only complaint is that they didn’t have enough port-a-potties during the second half of the race. I was so blessed to have friends and family cheering me on. Big Stud and the kids were at the finish line and at mile 10. I don’t know if it hasn’t sunken in yet, but I actually finished. Not just the race, but I set a goal and completed it. A running goal no less. That’s huge for me. I’m such a quitter when things get hard, but this time I pushed through, the training, the wind, the pain and I ran.

I’m so competitive I want to do it again and try to beat myself. I was so encouraged to see 60 and 70 year old women passing me. I thought, “that could be me one day.” I think I want to run for the rest of my life if my knees hold out. I just want to get better until I am at my best, then I’ll stop competing. If I ever learn to swim I think a triathlon would be fun. I honestly don’t know if I ever want to do a full marathon. The half is enough for me. But the triathlon has variety. With my time, I hope all I can do at this point is improve if I keep exercising and add strength training and stretching. Well that’s the scope. I hope to do more in the future, but for now it’s a check mark on the list. Thanks for my e-cheers and the encouraging words. I finished with a smile and at a steady pace, just like I wanted. Praise God!

