I had a good birthday. When I came home there were beautiful flowers from my parents and two lovely cards from other family members. Then friends stopped by to give me a gift and wish me a happy birthday. It all honestly could have ended there and I would have had a great day.

We went out to BBQ–it was just okay. The food came out really fast, but it was all lukewarm and not hot and fresh. That was a bummer, but Big Stud and I got to be together. It wasn’t the most festive conversation, but at least we talked.

The play was a comedy. It had subtle humor and slapstick. It made you chuckle and it made you think. The acting was pretty good. The two old ladies were the best. So this acting company has a goal of putting on plays that made you think. In short, it paralleled mercy killings to “regular” murder and evoked the question “is one better than the other?”

I think they did a good job of making mercy killings look like murder and bringing out the silliness of the things people say that are in favor/don’t see the problem with mercy killings. My favorite line was after the nephew finds out that his aunties are killing men (who they call their gentlemen) he’s astounded and appalled. He makes them promise not to let anyone in the house while he’s gone. Well, he leaves and when he gets home someone else has been killed but it wasn’t the aunties who did it. So he questions one of them and she says something like this, “I kill men, but I would never stoop to something like telling a fib.” That was my favorite line and an example of the way they brought humor out in the story.

I really liked the play. I was a little uneasy before we went because it was described as a comedy about murder and murder isn’t funny, period. So I was expecting to have to sit through a distasteful play. You never actually see any murders (sigh of relief). They did a good job of portraying that murder is bad, sick and wrong and that those who murder should be put away either in prison, or in the case of the aunties, a “loony bin.” Nothing surrounding the idea of murder was made light of, just the characters (extreme portrayals). It was opening night and I could see the actors becoming more comfortable with their lines, roles and the stage as the night progressed.

If “Arsenic and Old Lace” ever comes to your town I think it is worth seeing, even with “okay” acting.

