*singing with the Pointer Sisters* and I just can’t hide it. I’m about to loose control and I think I like it! Oh yeah!

The following post should be read with excitement.

As a child/teenager I enjoyed watching the Super Bowl. The game, the new commercials and the half time show. I lost interest at some point in college and only went to Super Bowl parties for the food and to talk to other people who really didn’t care about the game. The commercials keep getting trashier and the half time show has lost its quality, taste and style.

But just today I heard that Prince (the Artist Formerly Known As) will be doing the half time show. I was just thinking about Prince (and Michael Jackson) YESTERDAY! I was remembering how I was such a big fan of them both and how I had a crush on them both. With Michael Jackson I had a crush on him when his nose was still big and his skin was still brown (ie before he got super weird). I had an entire book of pictures of Michael Jackson. I had posters of him in front of a brick wall along with posters of Kirk Cameron and Corey Haim. Those were all girlhood crushes, but my crush on Prince has lasted a little longer than I care to admit.

Prince is singlehandedly responsible for one of my favorite colors being purple. As an eight year old I was in the midst of deciding what my favorite should be. It was a toss up between red and purple. Once my cousin told me purple was Prince’s favorite color, that sealed the decision (red is my number one). I listened to his music. I didn’t understand the meaning behind his lyrics, but I liked his voice and the way he looked. It was never strange to me. That’s what happens when you have a crush–nothing they do seems strange.

When I was in high school my brother took me to a Prince concert. All I could do was stand and stare. I didn’t sit down the entire time. He was actually “clean” except for one instance of humps on the grand piano. I didn’t like that part. But I liked him and I hoped that he would see me from a distance and invite me on stage. But someone else received the rose that night.

I don’t know what his music is like now. He used to sing a lot about women and romancing them. He obviously thinks women are beautiful creations. Regardless of his moral character, which since he has done well staying out of the “news” I don’t really know about, he is a talented musician. His musical talent has nothing to do with why I had a crush on him.

I don’t know if I will see the half time show. I don’t know if I’m willing to be found out by the people I see often. I also don’t want to ruin my memories of him with what could end up being some weird, perverted display on the fifty yard line. So for now, I’ll just relish in the memory of my private romance with a superstar.

7 comments:

Faraja said…

Happy New Year Dancer πŸ™‚

Ahhh, the people we had crushes on. I’m kinda weird in that I have crushes on characters in books – like Mr Darcy in Pride & Prejudice, he’s been my biggest crush forever! *sheepish grin*

5:08 PM
Cool Mama said…

Wow! I don’t think I’ve ever run into someone who had a crush on Prince! So…this is like one of those things you learn doing one of those ‘ice breakers’, during baby shower! ( Write down something that no one knows about you!!) Anwyays…I pop in all the time, and thought I should finally leave a comment! So…let us know if you finally watched the half time show..and if it met your expectation. By the way…beleive it or not…I was a bit of an Archaelogy nut in middle school, and my biggest crush – Alexander the Great! Go figure!

10:22 AM
Dancer said…
This post has been removed by a blog administrator.
6:59 AM
Dancer said…

Faraja,

Mr. Darcy is a very worthy character to have a crush on. Isn’t he dreamy πŸ™‚

Cool Mama,

I’ll bet lots of people have a crush on Prince. They just aren’t willing to admit it. Hmmm, Alexander the Great? Wow, that’s interesting.

7:01 AM
Kyllan said…

My sister had a huge crush on prince too. Once she saw him at outside a hotel in Dallas and took off on a sprint running after him! I don’t think she built up the nerve to say anything though πŸ™‚

8:22 PM
Anonymous said…

i have seen the “purple palace” where prince lives. it is outside Waconia, MN.
so there.

1:00 PM
Dancer said…

Big Stud,
You do make me jealous. If you were half the man as Prince you’d take your wife to see it, too! (smiling playfully)

1:57 PM

Links to this post

