Ah! This feels good. There have been so many times I’ve wanted to create an entry, but I really don’t have the time. Before going into graduate school, I thought for sure I would have a half hour to an hour to spare to keep you posted, vent, be sarcastic or anything I feel like on my blog, but it’s true what they say about graduate school. Anytime you hear a graduate student complain/brag about how they don’t have any free time–they aren’t exaggerating. I left an hour early today and instead of folding laundry I’m doing this. Now I just have to figure out what to write about. Oh, I know.

For some reason people are always asking me what I do. Does that happen to you? Anyway, now I say I’m a graduate student. I dread the next question because I know their response to my response and I really don’t like their response. Here’s how the conversations tend to go:

Person: What do you do?

Me: I’m a graduate student.

P: Oh, what are you going into?

M: Psychology, I’m going for a PhD in psychology.

P: (some variation of this) Oh, I better stop talking to you, you might analyze me.

M: (through gritted teeth, but with a smile) Oh, I’m not going to be that kind of psychologist.

Can we all say that together now, “SHE’S NOT GOING TO BE THAT KIND OF PSYCHOLOGIST!”

I went through lots of thought and self evaluation to decide that I’m not going to counsel people for a living. I can’t detach and I’ll get my fair share being the wife of a pastor (maybe). Most of all, that’s not where my interests lie.

Here’s what I’m interested in and what I’m doing in school (the short-I-haven’t always-been-a-grad-student-version) It’s also the I-can’t-devuldge-too-much information-or-it-could-wreck-my-study version.

I am in the Health Psychology/ Social Psychology program. I will be there for 5 years. No more, no less. Trust me. I’m interested in decision making and group decision making. Anything related to groups and how any aspect of social psychology is displayed in a group setting. I am also interested in studying authority and a variety of other things that I won’t get into.

I am currently working on two studies. One is a music preference study(if I know you I can tell you more details). The other is a study that I’m really excited about that looks at the team functions of military people who operate UAVs. That would be the Unmanned Air Vehicles. I get to use all kinds of fancy equipment and program stuff into a computer. It’s cool!

I’m not so much into health psychology yet, which studies things like stress and smoking. To give you an idea of other things psychologists do, there is also a vision lab at my university. They study how vision works.

Lately I’ve really been into the brain–neuropsychology. That studies the brain functions behind the behavior. Some people are unable to recognize facial emotions after a brain injury or they can only speak language, but can’t understand it. I think neuropsychology will be my mental passion, but we’ll see what I actually end up doing for my thesis and dissertation. I’m sure my interests will change often.

That was very vague and very condensed. If you want to know more, let me know. I can get more technical if you like.

So, I’m a social psychologist, not a clinician or a counselor. I don’t doubt that I would do well at being a counselor, it’s just not my thing.

Off to fold the laundry.

